Partner countries

The European XFEL is organized as a non-profit company with limited liability under German law (GmbH) that has international shareholders.

The shareholders are designated by the governments of the international partners who commit themselves in an intergovernmental convention to support the construction and operation of the European XFEL.

Present (bold) or likely future shareholder of the European XFEL GmbH
DAFHES (Danish Agency for Higher Education and Science) Denmark
CEA (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives)

CNRS (Centre national de la recherche scientifique)

DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) Germany
NRDI Office (National Research, Development and Innovation Office) Hungary
INFN (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare)

CNR (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche)

NCBJ (National Centre for Nuclear Research) Poland
NRC KI (National Research Centre "Kurchatov Institute") Russia
Slovak Republic Slovakia
Kingdom of Spain Spain
VR (Swedish Research Council) Sweden
Swiss Confederation Switzerland
UKRI (UK Research and Innovation) United Kingdom United Kingdom