Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) advises the European XFEL Council and the Management Board in scientific matters of fundamental importance.

The SAC provides recommendations on all scientific, technical and policy issues that bear on

  • a successful build-up of the scientific capacity of the European XFEL Facility,
  • its full and effective utilization, and on
  • future developments required to maintain the scientific and technical productivity of the Facility at the highest possible level.


Next SAC Meeting: 15-16 September 2022

SAC Meetings in 2023: 23-24 March and 21-22 September



  • Claudio Masciovecchio, Chair (Elettra, Trieste, Italy)
  • Elspeth Garman (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Steve Johnson (ETH, Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Henrik Lemke (PSI Villigen, Switzerland)
  • Anne l'Huillier (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Jan Lüning (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Arwen Pearson (Universität Hamburg, Germany)
  • Alexander Popov (ESRF Grenoble, France)
  • Ian Robinson (University College, London, UK)
  • Nina Rohringer (DESY, Hamburg, Germany)
  • Tim Salditt (Georg-August University Göttingen, Germany)
  • Robert Schoenlein (SLAC, California, US)
  • Philippe Wernet (Uppsala University, Sweden)


Secretary to the SAC

  • Gianluca Geloni (European XFEL GmbH, Schenefeld, Germany)