The European XFEL Council is the supreme organ of the company in which up to two delegates represent the shareholders of each contracting party. It meets at least twice a year. The Council functions as the shareholders’ assembly and decides on important issues of the company and its facility.

Each delegation to the Council can be accompanied by up to two advisors. The Council may decide to hear experts, invite guests and admit observers. It is led by a chairperson and a vice-chairperson who are elected from among the delegates for a period of two years and who become supra partes after their election.


Chair and Vice Chair

Chair of the Council

  • Maria Faury (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France)


Vice Chair of the Council

  • Martin Meedom Nielsen (Technical University of Denmark)




  • Morten Scharff (Danish Agency for Higher Education and Science)



  • Marie-Hélène Mathon (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives)
  • Sylvain Ravy (Centre national de la recherche scientifique)



  • Volkmar Dietz (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung)
  • Helmut Dosch (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)


  • Györgyi Juhász (National Research, Development and Innovation Office)
  • György Vankó (Wigner Research Centre for Physics)



  • Carlo Pagani (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare)
  • Corrado Spinella (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche)



  • Mateusz Gaczyński (Ministry of Education and Science)
  • Ryszard Sobierajski (Institute of Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences)



  • Mikhail Kovalchuk (National Research Centre "Kurchatov Institute")


Slovak Republic

  • Karel Saksl (Institute of Materials Research, Academy of Science)
  • Pavol Sovák (P.J. Šafárik University)


  • Lars Börjesson (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Johan Holmberg (Vetenskapsrådet - Swedish Research Council)



  • Gabriel Aeppli (Paul Scherrer Institute)
  • Laurent Salzarulo (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation)


United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

  • Helen Beadman (UK Research and Innovation)
  • James Naismith (Rosalind Franklin Institute)




  • Guadalupe C. de Córdoba Lasunción (Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación)
  • Rodolfo Miranda (IMDEA Nanociencia / Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)





  • Christian Harringa / Wim Leemans (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)
  • NN (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung)



  • Federico Boscherini (University of Bologna)
  • Daniele Sertore (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare)



  • Zbigniew Gołębiewski (National Centre for Nuclear Research)
  • Tomasz Leżański (National Centre for Nuclear Research)


Slovak Republic

  • Martin Šponiar (Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport)



  • Doris Wohlfender-Bühler (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation)


United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

  • Rachel Reynolds (United Kingdom Research and Innovation)



Secretary to the Council


Vice Secretary to the Council