Machine Advisory Committee

The Machine Advisory Committee (MAC) advises the Council and the Management Board in matters of fundamental importance for the operation, further development, and potential upgrades of the accelerator complex and the free-electron laser (FEL) schemes.

The MAC shall, in particular, regularly provide recommendations on scientific and technical issues, such as:

  • Is the operation of the European XFEL accelerator complex sound and efficient?
  • Are the various FELs operated efficiently and is their performance satisfactory?
  • Is the research and development programme for the accelerator complex and the FELs state of the art and does it correspond to the need of the European XFEL facility?
  • Are the scientific and technical targets of the proposed technical improvements and upgrades as well as their planning and milestones appropriate and realistic?



  • Evgeny Levichev (The Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics, Russia) Chairman
  • Andrzej Wolski (University of Liverpool, UK)
  • Franz-Josef Decker (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Luca Giannessi (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste, Italy)
  • Thomas Schilcher (Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland)
  • Catherine Madec (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies Alternatives, CEA, France)
  • Fernando Sannibale (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA ) 
  • Atoosa Mesek (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie, Germany)
  • Nicolas Leclercq (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, France)
  • Sara Thorin (MAX IV Laboratory, Sweden)