Laser Advisory Committee

In the frame of the construction and operation of Free-Electron-Laser facilities in the Ham­burg area, both the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY, Member of the Helmholtz-Association, and the European X-Ray Free-Electron Laser Facility GmbH, develop, con­struct, and operate optical laser systems suitable to be used for FEL applications. In particular, laser systems combining high pulse energy/power and high repetition rate are under consideration.

DESY and European XFEL have established a joint Laser Advisory Committee (LAC). This committee provides advice, both for development and construction of new laser systems and for the operation of the many laser systems being part of the operated user facilities. It consists of six to eight mem­bers not involved in the develop­ment activities. It meets once a year in Hamburg, typically end of February.


Members of the LAC

  • Miltcho Danailov (Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste, Italy)
  • Thomas Dekorsy (German Aerospace Center, Germany)
  • Alan Fry (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Catherine Le Blanc (Laboratoire LULI, Ecole Polytechnique, France)
  • Clara Saraceno (Ruhr University Bochum, Germany)
  • Emma Springate (STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom)
  • Jonathan Zuegel (University of Rochester, USA), Chairman


Secretaries to the LAC

  • Karolin Baev (DESY-FS, Hamburg, Germany)
  • Jörg Hallmann (European XFEL GmbH, Schenefeld, Germany)