Administrative and Finance Committee

The Administrative and Finance Committee is a committee of the European XFEL Council. It is charged with the general responsibility of advising the council on all matters of administrative issues and of financial management.

The Shareholders of each Contracting Party together have a maximum of two representatives to the AFC.

The Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson of the AFC are appointed by the Council for a fixed period of two years. With their election, the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson become supra partes and leave their delegations. The Chairperson may invite guests and/or experts to the AFC meetings, provided that all AFC members have been informed beforehand.


Chairman of the AFC

  • Xavier Reymond (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI, Bern, Switzerland)

Vice Chairman

  • Neil Pratt (STFC, Swindon, United Kingdom)



  • Denmark: Morten Scharff (DASTI, Copenhagen)
  • Germany: Andreas Volz (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Bonn) and
    Christian Harringa (DESY, Hamburg)
  • France: Salah Dib (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, Paris) and
    Sébastien Borel (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris)
  • Hungary: Györgyi Kolossváryné Juhász (NKFIH, Budapest)
  • Italy: Carlo Pagani (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare) and
    Corrado Spinella (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche)
  • Poland:  Michał Rybiński (Ministry of Science and Higher Education, Warsaw) and
    Michał Wójtowicz (National Centre for Nuclear Research, Otwock-Świerk)
  • Russia: Valeriy Nosik (NRC "Kurchatov Institute", Moscow)
  • Slovak Republic: Pavol Sovák (P. J. Šafárik University, Košice) and
    Lukáš Zendulka (Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic, Bratislava)
  • Sweden: Hanifeh Khayyeri (Swedish Research Council, Stockholm)
  • Switzerland: Peter Allenspach, (Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen)
    Doris Wohlfender (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI, Bern)


Secretary to the AFC

  • Uta Sprenger (European XFEL GmbH, Schenefeld, Germany)

Vice Secretary to the AFC

  • Deike Pahl (European XFEL GmbH, Schenefeld, Germany)