Skip Navigation
Deutsche Site
How to reach us
Home - Organization - Company - SAC

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) advises the European XFEL Council and the Management Board in scientific matters of fundamental importance.

The SAC provides recommendations on all scientific, technical and policy issues that bear on

  • a successful build-up of the scientific capacity of the European XFEL Facility,
  • its full and effective utilization, and on
  • future developments required to maintain the scientific and technical productivity of the Facility at the highest possible level.


  • Stefan Eisebitt (MBI Berlin, Germany)   Chairman

  • Rafael Abela (Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland)
  • Olga Alekseeva (Russian Acadamy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia)
  • Mike Dunne (LCLS, Stanford, USA)
  • Guillaume Fiquet (UPMC, Paris, France)
  • Gerhard GrĂ¼bel (DESY, Hamburg, Germany)
  • Maya Kiskinova (Elettra, Trieste, Italy)
  • Inari Kursula (University of Oulu, Finland and University of Bergen, Norway)
  • Anders Nilsson (Stockholm University, Sweden)
  • Keith Nugent (Latrobe University, Melbourne, Australia)
  • Christoph Quitmann (Maxlab, Lund, Sweden)
  • Ian Robinson (University College, London, United Kingdom)
  • Ilme Schlichting (Max-Planck-Institute, Heidelberg, Germany)
  • David Stuart (University of Oxford and Diamond Light Source, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom)
  • Linda Young (ANL Argonne, USA)

Secretary to the SAC

  • Gianluca Geloni (European XFEL GmbH, Hamburg, Germany)