Skip Navigation
Deutsche Site
How to reach us
Home - Organization - Company - Council


The European XFEL Council is the supreme organ of the company in which up to two delegates represent the shareholders of each contracting party. It meets at least twice a year. The Council functions as the shareholders’ assembly and decides on important issues of the company and project.

Each delegation to the Council can be accompanied by up to two advisors. The Council may decide to hear experts, invite guests and admit observers. It is led by a chairperson and a vice-chairperson who are elected from among the delegates for a period of two years and who become supra partes after their election.

Chair and Vice Chair

Chair of the Council

  • Martin Meedom Nielsen (Technical University of Denmark)

Vice Chair

  • Lars Börjesson (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden)



  • Morten Scharff (Danish Agency for Science, Technology and Innovation, Copenhagen)


  • Maria Faury (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, Paris)
  • Amina Taleb-Ibrahimi (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Paris)


  • Helmut Dosch (DESY, Hamburg)
  • Volkmar Dietz (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Bonn)


  • Dénes Lajos Nagy (Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest)


  • Grzegorz Wrochna (National Centre for Nuclear Research, Otwock)


  • Mikhail Kovalchuk (National Research Centre "Kurchatov Institute", Moscow)
  • Andrey Anikeev (Ministry of Education and Science)

Slovak Republic

  • Karel Saksl (Institute of Materials Research, SAS, Kosice)
  • Pavol Sovák (P.J. Šafárik University, Košice)


  • Johan Holmberg (Vetenskapsrådet - Swedish Research Council, Stockholm)
  • Ingmar Persson (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala)


  • Bruno Moor (State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation, Bern)
  • Gabriel Aeppli (Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen)



  • Carlo Pagani (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Milano)


  • Guadalupe C. de Córdoba Lasunción (Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad, Madrid)
  • Miguel Aranda (CELLS-ALBA Synchrotron, Barcelona)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

  • Neil Pratt (Science and Technology Facilities Council, Swindon)

Secretary to the Council

  • Malte Laub (European XFEL GmbH, Hamburg, Germany)

Vice Secretary to the Council